About Us.

Our team of local journalists will give you everything you need to start your day and better understand your neighbours, community, and the issues that matter to you and your city.

Tyler Olsen

Managing Editor

Tyler grew up in Vernon, graduated with a bachelor of journalism from Thompson Rivers University in Kamloops, and worked for the Vernon Morning Star, Chilliwack Times, and Abbotsford News covering crime, courts, politics, municipal affairs, health care, and a range of other issues. His writing has also appeared in a range of publications including the Vancouver Sun, the Globe and Mail, The Tyee, and others. He has been a finalist for six Jack Webster Awards, winning three times, and two National Newspaper Awards, winning once. With the support of Overstory Media, Tyler launched the Fraser Valley Current in 2021 after identifying a local need for a journalism outlet that prioritizes quality and depth.

Grace Kennedy


Grace was born and raised in Langley, but graduated with a degree in journalism and the history of science from the University of King’s College in Halifax. She has worked for newspapers across the Lower Mainland, and in 2019 was named New Journalist of the Year by the BC Yukon Community Newspaper Association. Her work has won an Atlantic Journalism Award and a Jack Webster Award; she has also been nominated for multiple community newspaper awards. Grace joined Tyler at The Current one month after its launch, and has been covering the valley from her home-base in Chilliwack ever since.

Joti Grewal


After graduating from Ryerson University with a master of journalism degree Joti returned home to the Fraser Valley, where she began her career as a community reporter. She was named New Journalist of the Year in 2020 by the BC Yukon Community Newspaper Association. A first-generation Canadian, Joti grew up in Abbotsford and then lived in Langley for nearly a decade. She also holds a degree in literature from UBC and a diploma in business administration from UFV.

We acknowledge the financial support of the Government of Canada.